Back to Undergraduate

Departments & Programs

American Studies
African & African Diaspora Studies
Anthropology
Art History
» Art Studio
Asian Studies
Athletics, Physical Education, & Recreation
Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Biology
Biopsychology
Book Art
Business Economics
Chemistry
Child Development
Chinese
College 005
Computer Science
Dance
Economics
Education
Engineering
English
Environmental Science
Environmental Studies
Ethnic Studies
French & Francophone Studies
Government
Hellman Program
History
Institute for Civic Leadership
Intermedia Arts
International Relations
Journalism
Latin American Studies
Law
Letters Division
Literary & Cultural Studies
Mathematics
Medicine/Health Sciences
Music
Nursing
Philosophy
Physics
Political, Legal & Economic Analysis
Psychology
Public Policy
Queer Studies
Religious Studies
Social Sciences Division
Sociology
Spanish & Spanish American Studies
Summer Academic Workshop
Theater Studies
Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies
Women, Leadership and Social Change


Home > Academics > Faculty >
Art (Studio)

Faculty & Staff

Amy Franceschini
Assistant Professor of Studio Art
Art Center 170, 510.430.2117, afranceschini@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Food systems, art and anthropology, social practice, documentary film, journalism

Samara Halperin
Visiting Assistant Professor of Studio Art
Art Center 116, 510.430.2117, shalperi@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Experimental film and video, cinematography, 16mm animation, production design, writing, pop culture

Hung Liu
Professor Emerita
Art Center 160, 510.430.3140, hliu@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Painting, drawing, printmaking, installation, public art projects

Anna Valentina Murch
Professor of Studio Art
On leave Spring 2014
Sculpture 115, 510.430.2182, annav@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Sculpture, installation, public art, ecological design, collaborative projects

Catherine F. Wagner
Professor of Studio Art
Art Center 140, 510.430.3288, catwag@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Photography, art and science, conceptual art, contemporary art philosophy, public art

back to top

Visiting Scholars & Artists

Jennifer Brandon
Visiting Artist
ART 121, 510.430.2117, jbrandon@mills.edu
Office Hours: Mondays, Wednesdays 12:00-1:00 and by appointment
Professional Interests: Photography, still life, contemporary art and criticism

Freddy Chandra
Visiting Artist
Art 121, 510.430.2117, fchandra@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesdays, Thursdays 11:30-12:30 and by appointment
Professional Interests: Painting, drawing, sculpture, installation, architectural works

Chris Fraser
Visiting Artist, Spring
Art 121, 510.430.2117, cfraser@mills.edu
Office Hours:Tuesdays, Thursdays 12:00-1:00
Professional Interests: Light, architecture, perception, embodied experience

Aida Gamez
Visiting Artist, Fall
gogogamez@comcast.net
Professional Interests: Drawing, painting, sculpture, photography, latino culture, border relations and history

Michael Hall
Visiting Artist
ART 121, 415.637.7862, mhall@mills.edu
Office Hours: Mondays, Wednesdays 12:00-12:30 and by appointment
Professional Interests: Painting, video, curatorial practice

Glen Helfand
Lecturer
Art 121, 510.430.2117, ghelfand@mills.edu
Office Hours: By appointment
Professional Interests: Contemporary art, criticism, curatorial practice

Danielle Lawrence
Visiting Artist
Art Center 121, 510.430.2117, dlawrence@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesdays, Thursdays 12:00-12:30 and by appointment
Professional Interests: Painting, drawing, sculpture, installation and experimental material practices

Chelsea Pegram
Visiting Artist, Spring
Art Center 121, 510.430.2117, cpegram@mills.edu
Office Hours: Mondays, Wednesdays 12:00-1:00
Professional Interests: Sculpture, installation, video, architecture, criticism

Will Rogan
Visiting Artist, Fall
willrogan@gmail.com

Michael Swaine
Visiting Artist
ART 121, 510.430.2117, mswaine@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesdays 12:00-1:00 in CER 183 and by appointment
Professional Interests: Social practice; creative writing; experimenting with materials, time and space; screws and bricks

Ethan Worden
Visiting Artist, Fall
eworden@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Sculpture, installation, architecture, literature, making things

back to top

Staff

Phil Bond
Studio Art Technician
PHO 153, 510.430.2117, pbond@mills.edu

Stacie Daniels
Assistant Director of the Art Museum
Art Museum, 510.430.2164, stacie@mills.edu

Kristie Kern
Faculty Administrative Assistant
Art Center 121, 510.430.2117, kkern@mills.edu

Ethan Worden
Studio Technician for Sculpture and Ceramics
Sculpture 102, 510.430.2117, eworden@mills.edu

Hannah Tandeta
Visual Resources Curator
Art Room 124, 510.430.3291, hannaht@mills.edu

back to top

Program Information
Overview

» Faculty and Staff

Requirements


Courses
Full Course List

Art Studio Course List

Schedule of Courses for
the Current Semester


Activities & Resources
Artist Lectures

Awards

Mills College Artist Lecture Series Blog

Mills College MFA Exhibitions

Visual Resources
510.430.3291

Workshops

Studios

Contact Information

P: 510.430.2117
E: studio_art@mills.edu

Last Updated: 2/3/14