Studio Art Faculty | Art History Faculty | Visiting Scholars & Artists | Staff

Studio Art Faculty
Samara Halperin Work Samara Halperin
Visiting Assistant Professor of Studio Art
Art Center 116
510.430.2117, shalperi@mills.edu
Office Hours: Wednesday 4:25-6:25 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Experimental film and video, cinematography, 16mm animation, production design, writing, pop culture
Catherine F. Wagner Catherine F. Wagner
Professor of Studio Art
Art Center 140
510.430.3288, catwag@mills.edu
Office Hours: Wednesday 4:00-6:00
See KQED television's feature on Catherine Wagner

Professional Interests: Photography, art and science, conceptual art, contemporary art philosophy, public art

Art History Faculty

Meryl Bailey 
Assistant Professor of Art and Art History
Art Center Room 106
510.430.3287, nmbailey@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday 10:00-12:00 and by appointment
Professional Interests: The Italian Renaissance, especially late Renaissance art and architecture in Venice; concepts of violence and justice in early modern visual culture; popular poetry and Florentine portraiture; art and the legal system

Mary-Ann Milford
Professor of Art History
Carver Professor of Far Eastern Studies
Department Head
Art Center 105
510.430.3290, mmilford@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday, Thursday 3:00-4:00 and by appointment
Professional Interests: Contemporary Asian art, specializing in women's art of South Asia and the art of India, China, and Japan 

Moira Roth
Professor of Art History 
On sabbatical Spring 2014
Art Center Room 107
510.430.3141, mroth@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursday 3:00-4:00 and by appointment
Professional Interests: Modern art history and contemporary global art, feminism and multiculturalism, and fiction and playwriting

back to top

Intermedia Arts Faculty

James Fei 
Associate Professor of Electronic Art
Program Head
Music Room 33
510.430.2329, jfei@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursday 4:00-5:30, and by appointment
Professional Interests: Composition, improvisation, sound installlation, live electronic music, recording, intermedia

Visiting Scholars & Artists

Glen Helfand
Lecturer
Art 121
510.430.2117, ghelfand@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment
Professional Interests: Contemporary art, criticism, curatorial practice

back to top

Staff

Stacie Daniels
Assistant Director of the Art Museum
Art Museum, 510.430.2164, stacie@mills.edu

Kristie Kern
Faculty Administrative Assistant
Art Center 121, 510.430.2117, kkern@mills.edu

Ethan Worden
Studio Technician for Sculpture and Ceramics
Sculpture 102, 510.430.2117, eworden@mills.edu



Last Updated: 7/2/14