Studio Art Faculty | Art History Faculty | Visiting Scholars & Artists | Staff

Studio Art Faculty
Samara Halperin Work Samara Halperin
Visiting Assistant Professor of Studio Art
Art Center 116
510.430.2117, shalperi@mills.edu
Office Hours: Wednesday 4:25-6:25 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Experimental film and video, cinematography, 16mm animation, production design, writing, pop culture
Yulia Pinkusevich
Assistant Professor of Studio Art
Art Center 160
510.430.2117, ypinkusevich@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday-Thursday 12:00-1:00

Professional Interests: Contemporary art and architecture, painting, drawing and site specific installation
Chris Sollars
Assistant Professor of Studio Art
Art Center 115
510.430.2117, csollars@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday 11:00 am-1:00 pm

Professional Interests: Sculpture, performance, video, socially engaged projects, and interventions
Catherine F. Wagner Catherine F. Wagner
Professor of Studio Art
Department Head
Art Center 140
510.430.3288, catwag@mills.edu
Office Hours: Wednesday 4:00-6:00
See KQED television's feature on Catherine Wagner

Professional Interests: Photography, art and science, conceptual art, contemporary art philosophy, public art

Visiting Scholars and Artists

Jennifer Brandon
Visiting Artist
Art 140 (Photography)
510.430.2117, jbrandon@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday 12:00-1:00 and by appointment
Professional Interests: Contemporary art, photography, sculpture, video

Freddy Chandra
Visiting Artist
Art 115 (Sculpture)
510.430.2117, fchandra@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday 12:00-1:00 and by appointment
Professional Interests: Painting, drawing, sculpture, installlation, architectural works

Chris Fraser
Visiting Artist
Art 121
510.430.2117, cfraser@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday, Thursday 12:00-1:00
Professional Interests: Light, architecture, perception, embodied experience

Glen Helfand
Lecturer
Art 121
510.430.2117, ghelfand@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment
Professional Interests: Contemporary art, criticism, curatorial practice

William Koone
Visiting Artist
Art 121
510.430.2117, wkoone@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday 12:00-1:00
Professional Interests: Sculpture, installation, photography, film, and philosophy

Kari Marboe
Visiting Artist
Art 121
510.430.2117, kmarboe@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday, Thursday 12:00-1:00 by appointment
Professional Interests: Socially engaged ceramics, creative writing, site-specific art

Sandra Ono
Visiting Artist
Art 121
510.430.2117, sono@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday 12:00-1:00 by appointment
Professional Interests: Contemporary art, experimenting with materials, biology, politics, time and space

Will Rogan
Visiting Artist
Art 121
510.430.2117, willrogan@gmail.com
Office Hours: by appointment
Professional Interests: The elusive nature of time, photography, historical objects, highlining

 

Art History Faculty

Meryl Bailey 
Assistant Professor of Art and Art History
Art Center Room 106
510.430.3287, nmbailey@mills.edu
Office Hours: Wednesday 10:30-12:30 and by appointment
Professional Interests: Italian and Spanish art; early modern confraternities; Venetian art and culture; Sephardic art and culture; criminal justice and visual culture; portraiture

Mary-Ann Milford
Professor of Art History
Carver Professor of Far Eastern Studies
Department Head
Art Center 105
510.430.3290, mmilford@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday, Thursday 12:00-1:00 and by appointment
Professional Interests: Contemporary Asian art, specializing in women's art of South Asia and the art of India, China, and Japan 

Moira Roth
Professor of Art History 
Art Center Room 107
510.430.3141, mroth@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursday 3:00-5:00 and by appointment
Professional Interests: Modern art history and contemporary global art, feminism and multiculturalism, and fiction and playwriting

 

Intermedia Arts Faculty

James Fei 
Associate Professor of Electronic Art
Program Head
Music Room 33
510.430.2329, jfei@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursday 4:00-5:30, and by appointment
Professional Interests: Composition, improvisation, sound installlation, live electronic music, recording, intermedia

 

Staff

Phil Bond
Studio Art Technician
Photography 153, 510.430.2117, pbond@mills.edu

Stacie Daniels
Manager of Exhibitions and Collections
Art Museum, 510.430.2164, stacie@mills.edu

Chelsea Pegram
Studio Technician for Sculpture and Ceramics
Sculpture 102, 510.430.2117, cpegram@mills.edu

Isabelle Chiosso
Faculty Administrative Assistant
Art Center 121, 510.430.2117, ichiosso@mills.edu



Last Updated: 4/1/16