Back to Undergraduate

Departments & Programs

American Studies
African & African Diaspora Studies
Anthropology
Art History
Art Studio
Asian Studies
Athletics, Physical Education, & Recreation
Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
» Biology
Biopsychology
Book Art
Business Economics
Chemistry
Child Development
Chinese
College 005
Computer Science
Dance
Economics
Education
Engineering
English
Environmental Science
Environmental Studies
Ethnic Studies
French & Francophone Studies
Government
Hellman Program
History
Institute for Civic Leadership
Intermedia Arts
International Relations
Journalism
Latin American Studies
Law
Letters Division
Literary & Cultural Studies
Mathematics
Medicine/Health Sciences
Music
Nursing
Philosophy
Physics
Political, Legal & Economic Analysis
Psychology
Public Policy
Queer Studies
Religious Studies
Social Sciences Division
Sociology
Spanish & Spanish American Studies
Summer Academic Workshop
Theater Studies
Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies
Women, Leadership and Social Change


Home > Academics > Faculty >
Biology

Faculty & Staff

Barbara Bowman
Associate Professor of Biology
NSB 124, 510.430.2297, bowmanb@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Molecular phylogenetics, cell biology of yeast

Jenn Smith
Assistant Professor of Biology
NSB 122, 510.430.2161, jesmith@mills.edu
Professional Intersts: Behavioral and evolutionary ecology of social rodents and carnivores

Susan Spiller
Associate Professor of Biology
NSB 127, 510.430.3175, spiller@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Physiology and molecular biology of plants, photosynthetic bacteria

Lisa Urry
Professor of Biology
Department Head of Biology
Program Head of Environmental Science, Spring
NSB 123, 510.430.2026, lurry@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Developmental biology of sea urchin embryos and larvae, cell-cell and cell-extracellular matrix interactions, science education/pedagogy

Jared Young
Associate Professor of Biology
Kilgore-Snyder Professorship
NSB 120, 510.430.2032, jyoung@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Odor sensing pathways and their modulation in the nematode Caenorhabditis elegans

back to top

Visiting Scholars

Robin Ball
Visiting Assistant Professor
NSB 127, 510.430.3175, rball@mills.edu
Office Hours: Wednesdays 12:30-1:30 and Fridays 11:00-12:00
Professional Interests: Molecular aspects of synapse development in fruit flies

Lori Styles
Visiting Assistant Professor, Fall
lstyles@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Sickle cell disease, hematology/oncology, clinical research

Sarah Swope
Visiting Assistant Professor
NSB 121, 510.430.2158, sswope@mills.edu
Office Hours: Mondays 1:00-2:00, Thursdays 2:30-3:30 and by appointment
Professional Interests: How plants mediate interactions among pollinators, herbivores and pathogens; geographic variation in demography; invasive plants as model systems for research; conservation of rare native plants

Elaine Tan
Visiting Assistant Professor
NSB 121, 510.430.2158, etan@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursdays 12:00-1:00 and Friday 1:30-2:30 in NSB 181
Professional Interests: Anatomy and functional circuitry of the brain, particularly with regard to the processing of sensory information

Helen Walter
Visiting Assistant Professor
Center for Academic Excellence and Peer Tutoring, Director
Hellman Summer Science and Math, Director
NSB 131, 510.430.2035, hwalter@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Identifying meningococcal factor H binding protein mutants with no human factor H binding

back to top

Staff

Heather Pearl
Lab Manager
NSB 175, 510.430.2020, hpearl@mills.edu
Office Hours: Mondays-Fridays 9:00-4:00

Ann Prentiss
Garden Coordinator, Gaia House, 510.430.2230
aprentiss@mills.edu
Office (or Garden) Hours: By appointment only

Joyce Hilton
Faculty Administrative Assistant
NSB 116, 510.430.3274, jhilton@mills.edu

back to top

Program Information
Overview

» Faculty and Staff

Requirements

Courses
Biology Course List

Schedule of Courses for
the Current Semester


Transfer Guidelines for Science Majors
Junior Transfer Students(pdf, 17.5k)

Activities & Resources
Awards

Botanic Garden

Events

Jill Barrett Research Program

Peer Tutoring

Recent Graduates

Recent Research Internships

Special Projects
Native Plant Restoration

Contact Information

P: 510.430.3274
F: 510.430.3304
E: biology@mills.edu

Last Updated: 4/8/14