Back to Undergraduate

Departments & Programs

American Studies
African & African Diaspora Studies
Anthropology
Art History
Art Studio
Asian Studies
Athletics, Physical Education, & Recreation
Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Biology
Biopsychology
Book Art
Business Economics
» Chemistry
Child Development
Chinese
College 005
Computer Science
Dance
Economics
Education
Engineering
English
Environmental Science
Environmental Studies
Ethnic Studies
French & Francophone Studies
Government
Hellman Program
History
Institute for Civic Leadership
Intermedia Arts
International Relations
Journalism
Latin American Studies
Law
Letters Division
Literary & Cultural Studies
Mathematics
Medicine/Health Sciences
Music
Nursing
Philosophy
Physics
Political, Legal & Economic Analysis
Psychology
Public Policy
Queer Studies
Religious Studies
Social Sciences Division
Sociology
Spanish & Spanish American Studies
Summer Academic Workshop
Theater Studies
Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies
Women, Leadership and Social Change


Home > Academics > Faculty >
Chemistry

Faculty & Staff

Sandra M. Banks
Lecturer, Chemistry
NSB 118, 510.430.3133, smbanks@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Chemical education, organic chemistry-spectroscopy and organic chemistry reaction mechanisms

John S. Brabson
Professor of Chemistry
Program Head of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Program Head of Post-Baccalaureate Pre-Medical
NSB 128, 510.430.2203, johnb@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Antifungal compounds and their modes of action, sphingolipid metabolism in Pichia ciferrii

Kristina Faul
Associate Professor of Geochemistry and Environmental Geology
Rhoda Goldman Professorship in Environmental Science
Department Head, Spring
NSB 119, 510.430.2202, kfaul@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Oceanography, climate change, the chemistry of past oceans, paleoceanography

Sandra C. Greer
Professor of Chemistry
Scheffler Pre-Health Science Chair
Mills Hall 137, sgreer@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Physical chemistry, polymer science, ethics in science, women in science

David Keeports
Professor of Chemistry and Physics
Gibbons-Young Chair for the Advancement of Science
Department Head, Fall
NSB 125, 510.430.2162, dave@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Molecular spectroscopy, physics and chemistry education, software development

Beth Kochly
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Trefethen Faculty Award
NSB 129, 510.430.2085, bkochly@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Mechanistic studies and reactive intermediates in organic chemistry, organic reactions in ionic liquids

Elisabeth Wade
Professor of Chemistry
Letts-Villard Professorship in the Natural Sciences
Program Head of Environmental Science, Fall
On sabbatical Spring 2014
NSB 117, 510.430.3132, ewade@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Chemical kinetics, atmospheric pollutants, atmospheric and combustion chemistry

back to top

Visiting Scholars

Emily Chu
Visiting Assistant Professor, Fall
emchu@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Physical chemistry, chemical kinetics, atmospheric chemistry, science policy, science education, online education

Ronald Chiarello
Visiting Assistant Professor
NSB 118, 510.430.2137, rchiarello@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesdays 12:00-1:00, Mondays-Fridays 10:00-12:30
Professional Interests: DNA/RNA synthesis and application development, novel labeling techniques for biomolecules, process development in biotechnology

Lauren Comfort
Lecturer, Chemistry
NSB 117, 510.430.3313, lcomfort@mills.edu
Office Hours: Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays 10:00-11:00 and 2:00-3:00, Tuesdays 12:00-1:00
Professional Interests: Atmospheric chemistry, science education, science and patent law

Lynn Delker
Visiting Assistant Professor
NSB 118, 510.430.3133, ldelker@mills.edu
Office Hours: Mondays 12:00-12:50 in NSB 105, Mondays, Tuesdays 1:00-2:00, Wednesdays 9:00-9:50, Fridays 1:00-2:00 or by appointment in NSB 118
Professional Interests: Physics and science education

Heike Held
Visiting Assistant Professor
NSB 118, 510.430.2137, hheld@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursdays 12:15-12:45
Professional Interests: Bioorganic chemistry, use of synthetic organic chemistry to study biological processes

Greg Nelson
Visiting Assistant Professor
NSB 118, 510.430.2317, gnelson@mills.edu
Office Hours: Wednesdays 1:00-2:00 and by appointment in NSB 206
Professional Interests: Transition metal complexes, polymer properties, molecular modeling, chemical structure determination, LEDs and OLEDs

Kevin Shambrook
Visiting Assistant Professor, Fall
kshambrook@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Physics of conducting polymers, improving physics education, electronics

Bill Trego
Lecturer
NSB 118, 510.430.2317, btrego@mills.edu
Office Hours: Mondays, Wednesdays 9:00-1:00 in NSB 118
Professional Interests: Natural product synthesis, improving organic chemistry education

Staff

Pam Ralston
Laboratory Coordinator
NSB 205, 510.430.2374, ralston@mills.edu

Jo Scullion
Faculty Administrative Assistant
NSB 111, 510.430.2317, jscullio@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursdays 9:00-12:00

back to top

Program Information
Overview

» Faculty and Staff

Requirements

Courses
Full Course List

Chemistry Course List

Schedule of Courses for
the Current Semester


Transfer Guidelines for Science Majors
Junior Transfer Students (pdf, 17.5k)

Activities & Resources
Awards

Peer Tutoring

Student Activities
Free Radicals Science Club

Recent Graduates

Recent Research Internships

Links
General Information

Tutorials & Study Aids

Research Resources

Contact Information

P: 510.430.2317
F: 510.430.3314
E: chemistry@mills.edu

Last Updated: 7/25/14