Click here to learn more about why graduate students choose the Mills College MBA Program, located in Oakland, Calfornia.

Click here for information how you can visit the welcoming, safe Mills College campus, located in the heart of the San Francisco Bay Area.

Click here for information applying to Mills College located in the San Francisco Bay Area.

Click here to request information about the MBA Programs at the Lorry I. Lokey Graduate School of Business in California.


Core Faculty | Visiting Scholars | Staff

Office of the Dean
Bruce Paton Bruce Paton
Interim Dean, Lorry I. Lokey School of Business and Public Policy
GSB 238
510.430.3345, bpaton@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment only

Professional Interests: Social innovation, sustainable business, design thinking, cross-sector collaboration, voluntary initiatives, business models for poverty alleviation

Carolyn Sherwood Call
Associate Dean and MBA Academic Director
GSB 236
510.430.3365, csherwoodcall@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursday 3:30-5:00

Professional Interests: Climate change policy, sustainable business, strategies, environmental economics, public policy, applied microeconomics

Lori Bamberger
Director, Public Policy Program
Professor of Practice
GSB 237, 510.430.3375, lbamberger@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday, 10:45-11:45, Wednesday, 3:00-4:00 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Affordable housing and asset-building, energy efficiency and financing, and cross-sectoral alliance-building


Graduate School of Business Faculty
Kate Karniouchina Kate Karniouchina
Associate Professor of Business
GSB 229
650.892.3755, kkarniouchina@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday 2:00-4:00

Professional Interests: Marketing, marketing/finance/strategy interface issues, new product development, motion pictures, Bayesian estimation and hierarchical data structures
Lorien Rice
Associate Professor of Economics
Lorry I. Lokey Endowed Chair in Ethics
GSB 233
510.430.3113, lrice@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday 11:00-12:00, Tuesday 1:15-2:00, Wednesday 11:00-12:00, Thursday 1:30-3:00

Professional Interests: Labor economics, public policy, poverty, education economics, applied econometrics
Roger Sparks Roger Sparks
Professor of Economics
GSB 231
510.430.2137, sparks@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday 1:30-4:00, Tuesday 2:00-4:00 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Applied microeconomics, banking, energy economics, labor economics
Carol Theokary Carol Theokary
Assistant Professor of Business
GSB 227
510.430.2038, ctheokary@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday 11:00-12:00, Tuesday 2:30-3:30

Professional Interests: Service design, healthcare supply chains, service quality, cost efficiency

back to top

Visiting Scholars
Jasmin Ansar

Jasmin Ansar
Visiting Assistant Professor
GSB 235D
510.220.6918, 510.430.3303, jasminsparks@gmail.com
Office Hours: Wednesday 12:15-1:00 and 2:00-3:00 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Data analysis, forecasting, econometric modeling, energy markets, environmental economics

Seth Barad

Seth Barad
Professor of Business Practice
GSB 226
sbarad@mills.edu
Office Hours: Wednesday 11:00-1:00 and by appointment only

Professional Interests: Non-profit management, management consulting, management communications

Mark Bichsel

Mark Bichsel
Professor of Business Practice
GSB 235B
mbichsel@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday, 5:00-6:30

Professional Interests: Accounting

Lisa Cain

Lisa Cain
Visiting Assistant Professor
GSB 235
510.517.1935, lcain@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursday 5:00-6:30 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Sales force management, entrepreneurship, social media and internet marketing

Neha Dave

Neha Dave
Lecturer
GSB 228
510.430.2248, ndave@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursday 12:15-1:20 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Finance, micro and macro economic theory, development economics, economics of globalization, international trade and finance

Robert Kennedy
Lecturer
GSB 235
rkennedy@mills.edu

Professional Interests: Real estate investment, micro/local agriculture

Darcelle Lahr
Professor of Business Practice
GSB 230
510.430.2344
dlahr@mills.edu
Office Hours: Wednesday 9:15-10:45

Professional Interests: Business growth strategy, business ethics, management consulting, entrepreneurship/small business management, program management

Jessica Notini
Visiting Assistant Professor
GSB 235
415.973.4570, notini@pacbell.net

Professional Interests: alternative dispute resolutions

Denise Pinkston

Denise Pinkston
Lecturer
GSB 235
dpinkston@mills.edu

Professional Interests: Real estate, land use, economic development, green building, affordable housing, infill mixed use projects, environmental review and impact management

Denise Pinkston

Rebecca Portnoy
Visiting Assistant Professor
GSB 235
rportnoy@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday 5:00

Professional Interests: Managerial and organizational development

Peter Secor
Lecturer
GSB 235
psecor@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursday 6:00-7:00 or by appointment

Professional Interests: Digital marketing, technology investment, business strategy and governance, software development, data analytics

Martha Sellers
Lecturer
GSB 230
510.430.2344
msellers@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday 5:00-6:45 and by appointment (email to schedule)

Professional Interests: Credit risk, portfolio credit risk, corporate capital structure

Sheila Shain
Lecturer
GSB 226
510.430.3328
sshain@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday 6:15-6:45, Thursday 3:15-3:45

Professional Interests: Technology in accounting and in education, business ethics

Eric Sullivan
Lecturer
GSB 235
esullivan@quantumcorporation.net

Professional Interests: Corporate acquisitions, early stage technology companies, commercial real estate, financial arbitrage, entrepreneurial ventures

back to top

Staff

Ilana Golin
Director, MBA/MPP Career Services and External Relations
GSB 210, 510.430.2179, igolin@mills.edu

Chris Fogarty
Career Advisor and Executive Coach
GSB 214B, 510.430.2389, cfogarty@mills.edu

Lisa Hanson
Director, MBA/MPP Recruitment and Admissions
GSB 211, 510.430.3173, lhanson@mills.edu

Ife Tayo Walker
Manager of MBA/MPP Student Services and Operations
GSB 214A, 510.430.2147, iwalker@mills.edu

Keelia Murphy
Manager, Office of the Dean and Faculty Support, MBA/MPP
GSB 219, 510.430.2099, kmurphy@mills.edu

Evan Friedenberg
Administrative Assistant
GSB 217, 510.430.2194, gsb@mills.edu

back to top

Last Updated: 2/16/16