Why Mills


P: 510.430.3170

F: 510.430.3379

E: education@mills.edu

Faculty & Staff
Elizabeth Baker Elizabeth Baker
Associate Professor of Practice; 4 + 1 Program Director
TTS/Math-Science
Education 223
510.430.3154, ebaker@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday 4:00-6:00, Thursday 3:00-5:00 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Teacher research, including Japanese lesson study; pre-service and in-service science and mathematics education; gender and equity education in the urban classroom; constructivist education
Melissa Benham Melissa Benham
Program Coordinator;Credential Analyst
Early Childhood Education, Infant Mental Health, Doctoral Program
On leave, Spring 2014
Kimball House 3
510.430.3293, mbenham@mills.edu
Susan Christopher Susan Christopher
Assistant Dean; Director of Enrollment
Education 202
510.430.3170, schristo@mills.edu
Ruth Cossey Ruth Cossey
Professor, MEET/TTS Program Chair
TTS/Math-Science
Sabbatical Spring 2015
Education 210
510.430.3190, rcossey@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursday 11:00-12:00 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Preservice and inservice mathematics and science education, sociology of education in urban environments, mathematics reform in elementary and secondary schools
David Donahue David Donahue
Professor of Education; Associate Provost
May Treat Morrison Professorship
TTS/Humanities
Mills Hall 206
510.430.3393, ddonahue@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment

Professional Interests: English and social studies education, service learning, literacy, human rights education
Winnie Froehlich Winnie Froehlich
Program Coordinator
TTS and MEET
Kimball 5
510.430.3255, wfroehlich@mills.edu
Tomas Galguera Tomás Galguera
Professor of Education; Abbie Valley Professorship in Education
TTS/Humanities
Education 217
510.430.3190, tomasgs@mills.edu
Office Hours: Wednesday 1:00-3:00 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Teacher education for language-minority students, bilingual education and English-language development programs, ethnolinguistic diversity in education
Heather Grimes
Executive Assistant to the Dean and Communications Coordinator
Education 203
510.430.3190, hgrimes@mills.edu
Joseph E. Kahne Joseph E. Kahne
Professor of Education; Chair, MacArthur Research Network on Youth and Participatory Politics
Educational Leadership
Kimball House
510.430.3275, jkahne@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment

Professional Interests: Democracy and education, digital media and public participation, urban educational change and school policy, service learning, youth development
Kristie Kern
Budget Manager and Academic Coordinator for Educational Leadership Division
Education 203
510.430.3146, kkern@mills.edu
Diane Ketelle Diane Ketelle
Professor of Education
Robert and Ann Wert Professorship
Educational Leadership; Administrative Service Credential
Robert and Ann Wert Professorship
Education 221, 510.430.3190, dketelle@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday 3:00-5:00 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Administrator knowledge, administrator stories, narrative inquiry, fictionalizing real experience
Linda Kroll Linda Kroll
Professor of Education; Associate Dean of School of Education; Faculty Executive Committee Division Representative
Early Childhood Education
Education 214
510.430.3190, lindak@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday 2:00-3:45 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Cognitive development, development of literacy, application of developmental theory to educational issues, teacher education, teacher development including development of teachers from their training throughout their careers
Barbara LiSanti Barbara LiSanti
Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science
TTS/Math-Science
CPM Room 200B
510.430.2247, barbara@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursday 4:00-5:00 (Stern 35) and by appointment (CPM 200B)

Professional Interests: Artificial intelligence applications in education, cognitive science, intelligent tutoring systems, computer science education, linear algebra
Julie Nicholson Julie Nicholson
Associate Professor of Practice
Early Childhood Education; Educational Leadership
Education 210
510.430.3190, jnichols@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursday 3:30-4:30 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Leadership development in early childhood, policy and advocacy in early childhood, post-modern and critical perspectives, early childhood system building (prenatal-8), play memories, play across the lifespan, use of social networking and new literacies in teacher education, teachers' data use practices, qualitative research
Linda Perez Linda Perez
Professor of Education; Co-Director of Infant Mental Health Program; Mary and Richard Holland Professorship in Early Childhood Education
Child Life, Special Education; Infant Mental Health
Education 213
510.430.3238, lmperez@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday 12:00-1:00, Thursday 11:00-12:30, and by appointment

Professional Interests: At-risk children and families, the application of developmental theory to special education issues, mental health and developmental disorders of infancy and early childhood
Anna Richert Anna Ershler Richert
Professor of Education; Edward Hohfeld Chair
TTS/Humanities; MEET Program
Education 218
510.430.3190, anna@mills.edu
Office Hours: Wednesday 12:00-2:00 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Teacher learning and school reform, teacher knowledge, professional education/development, teacher research
Nikole Richardson
Visiting Assistant Professor; TTS/Humanities Program Director
TTS/Humanities
Education 203
510.430.3190, nrichardson@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursday 2:30-4:00

Professional Interests: Teacher development, culturally responsive pedagogy, school contexts for teacher learning, history/social studies education communities
Katherine Schultz Katherine Schultz
Professor of Education; Dean of School of Education
Education 206
510.430.3384, kschultz@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday 2:00-4:00 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Urban teacher education, pedagogical practice and teacher learning, international teacher professional development, adolescent literacy in and out of school
Ingrid Seyer-Ochi
Visiting Associate Professor; Director of the Center for Urban Schools and Partnerships
Kimball House 2
510.430.3190, iseyerochi@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursdays 9:00-10:30 or by appointment

Professional Interests: Educational inequality, educational anthropology, urban education and urban studies, ethnography, public scholarship, social geography, social-cultural constructions of learning, school-community relationships, university-school partnerships, youth cultures, the history of educational and social service institutions, violence and urban social suffering
Priya Shimpi Priya Shimpi
Associate Professor of Education
Lynn T. White, Jr., Professorship
Early Childhood Education
Education 215
510.430.3190, pshimpi@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday 1:30-3:30 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Communicative, social, and cognitive development in a diversity of learning environments; translating early childhood research into practice; the role of culture and experience in childrens attention and learning
Gregory Tanaka
Visiting Professor
Educational Leadership
Education 203
510.430.3190, gtanaka@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday 3:00-5:00, Wednesday 4:00-6:00 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Capital markets, systemic collapse/social change, qualitative research, participatory democracy, action research, subject formation and individual agency
Vicky Webber
Lecturer
TTS
Education 216
510.430.3190, vwebber@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment

Professional Interests: History and philosophy of education, ethnomathematics, teaching for equity and social justice
Sabrina Zirkel Sabrina Zirkel
Professor of Educational Leadership
Educational Leadership
Education 211
510.430.3380, szirkel@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursday 3:00-5:00 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Issues of race and ethnicity in education, creating more effective multi-ethnic and urban schools, intergroup relations in schools, educational leadership for social change

back to top

Visiting Professors

Richard Ayers
Visiting Assistant Professor, Spring
Education 203, 510.430.3190, rayers@mills.edu
Office Hours: By appointment

Professional Interests: Teacher education, equity and social justice, discourse and literacy

Merri BesdenMerri Besden
Lecturer, Fall
Education 203, 510.430.3190, mbesden@mills.edu
Office Hours: Not Teaching in the Spring

Professional Interests: Inclusive practices, Reggio Emilia inspired classrooms, sensory integration, facilitating social and pre-academic skills using photography and visual strategies

Frederica Breuer
Lecturer
Education 203, 510.430.3191, fbreuer@mills.edu
Office Hours: Wednesday 12:00-1:00, and by appointment

Professional Interests: Early literacy development, K–6 writing curriculum, children's literature

Kevin Collins
Visiting Assistant Professor, Spring
Education 406, 925.944.6850, Ext. 2010, kcollins@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment

Professional Interests: School finance and equity, educational administration, utilization of student data, secondary education

Dora DomeDora Dome
Visiting Assistant Professor, Fall
Education 203, 510.430.3191, ddome@mills.edu
Office Hours: Not teaching in Spring

Professional Interests: Legal representation of public school districts in the areas of student discipline and special education, and the provision of professional development on equity issues related to disproportionality and student achievement

Eliana Elias
Lecturer, Fall
Education 203, 510.502.3642, elianaelias@comcast.net
Office Hours: Not teaching in Spring

Professional Interests: Dual language learners, education equity, immigrant families, early childhood staff development, preschool curriculum

Victoria Forrester
Lecturer
Education 210, 510.430.3191, vforrester@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment

Professional Interests: Dual language learners, education equity, immigrant families, early childhood staff development, preschool curriculum

Rebecca Hawley
Visiting Assistant Professor, Spring
Education 203, 510.332.4750, rhawley@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursday 2:30-4:00 by appointment

Professional Interests: Early intervention; Head Start and early Head Start; early childhood education advocacy and education; race and ethnicity and issues of early education and access

Brandon Krueger
Visiting Assistant Professor, Fall
Education 203, 510.430.3190, bkrueger@mills.edu
Office Hours: Not teaching in Spring

Professional Interests: Organizational leadership theories, family and community engagement in schools, human resources leadership, shared leadership, program improvement strategies, state and federal programs, multilingual/multicultural education

back to top

Josephine LeeJosephine Lee
Lecturer
Education 212, 510.430.3190, jlee@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment

Professional Interests: Infant care and development; supporting children's oral language development; the importance of symbolic play, television and media culture in the lives of young children

Betty LinBetty Lin
Lecturer
Education 212, 510.430.3190, blin@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday 12:00-2:00, Thursday 10:00-12:00 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Early intervention and early childhood special education, infant mental health, early intervention advocacy and public policy cultural understanding when working with Asian families

Susan Marchant
Lecturer and Student Supervisor, Child Life
Education 212, 510.430.3190, smarchan@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment

Professional Interests: Genetic disorders, organizational psychology, pediatric chronic illness, pediatric palliative care, cultural implications in pediatrics, curricular development

Eduardo Munoz Munoz
Lecturer, Fall
Education 210, 510.575.3071, emunozmunoz@mills.edu
Office Hours: Not teaching in Spring

Professional Interests: Multilingual education, English learners and educational equity, school organization and multicultural communication in schools

Patricia Nunley
Visiting Assistant Professor, Spring
Education 203, 510.430.3130, patricianunley@aol.com

Professional Interests: The student-teacher relationship between urban black males and their teachers, consultant and educational Coach for 100 Black Men of the Bay Area Community School, professional development diversity workshops, Head Start, chronic exposure to community violence as a trauma source, global ECE and western theories, African American mental wellness

Zachary Roberts
Visiting Assistant Professor, Fall
Education 210, 510.430.3191, zroberts@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment

Professional Interests: Instructional supervision and cognitive coaching, reflective practice, early induction administration, assessment and evaluation, interdisciplinary education

Stacy Thompson
Visiting Assistant Professor, Fall
Education 210, 510.430.3191, sthompson@mills.edu
Office Hours: Not teaching in Spring

Professional Interests: Leadership in higher education, teacher preparation, diversity issues in education

Tracy Trujillo
Visiting Assistant Professor, Fall
Education 203, 925.314.2525, Voicemail: 925.314.2525, t3trujillo@hotmail.com
Office Hours: Not teaching in Spring

Professional Interests: Advocation of the health of infants, children, adolescents and young adults

Ron Ulrich
Lecturer, Fall
Education 203, 510.430.3190, rulrich@mills.edu
Office Hours: Not teaching in Spring

Professional Interests: Math and science education, teacher development, application of hands on learning, development of critical thinking skills, and classroom norms

Courtney Young-Law
Visiting Assistant Professor
Education 216, 510.430.3190, cyoungla@mills.edu
Office Hours: Not teaching in Spring

Professional Interests: Higher education administration; college student development; race, equity, and social justice in education

Grants Staff

Ben Bowyer
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Senior Researcher
Civic Engagement Research Group
Kimball House 16
510.430.2165, bbowyer@mills.edu

Carla Dartis
Independent Consultant
Early Oakland, Oakland Education Cabinet
Kimball House
510.430.3190, cdartis@mills.edu

Chris Evans
Associate Research Coordinator
Civic Engagement Research Group
Kimball House 13
510.430.3359, cevans@mills.edu

Shelley Friedkin
Project Coordinator
Lesson Study Group
Kimball House 14
510.430.3350, friedkin@mills.edu

Nidia Gonzalez
Administrative Assistant
Lesson Study Group
Kimball House 11
510.430.2197, ngonzalez@mills.edu

Erica Hodgin
Associate Director
Civic Engagement Research Group
Kimball House 13
510.430.2302, ehodgin@mills.edu

back to top

Catherine Lewis
Distinguished Research Scholar
Lesson Study Group
Kimball House C
510.430.3129, clewis@mills.edu

Julie McGrew
Administrative Assistant
Lesson Study Group
Kimball House 11
510.430.2197, jmcgrew@mills.edu

Ellen Middaugh
Research Director
Civic Engagement Research Group
Kimball House 10
510.430.3357, emiddaug@mills.edu

Sandra Mistretti
Project Administrator
Civic Engagement Research Group
Kimball House 15
510.430.2115, smistret@mills.edu

Rebecca Perry
Senior Research Associate
Lesson Study Group
Kimball House 12
510.430.3217, rperry@mills.edu

Stan Pesick
Co.Director
OUSD/Mills College/ACOE Humanities Collaborative, Educating for Democracy in a Digital Age
Kimball House 2
510.430.3190, spesick@mills.edu

Jillian Roth
Research Associate
Lesson Study Group
Kimball House 14
510.430.3276, jroth@mills.edu

back to top




Last Updated: 9/17/14