Directory of Offices

President's Information

Curriculum Vitae
Staff Directory
President's Cabinet
Facts About Mills
Historical Timeline
Past Presidents

More Information

Mills College Strategic Plan
New President Announcement

The Women in Public
Service Project

Delegate Biographies
Speakers' Biographies
Opening Ceremony Program
Application Process
Press Release

Office of the President

Curriculum Vitae


BA Wellesley College, 1976, English and Political Science
JD Indiana University School of Law, 1978


President, Mills College, 2011–Present
Vice President and Deputy General Counsel, Specialty Legal Team, 2010–2011
Vice President and General Counsel, Lilly USA, 2005–2009
Secretary and Deputy General Counsel, Eli Lilly and Company, 1999–2005
Vice President, Law, Lilly Research Laboratories, 1997–1999
Executive Director, Research Planning and Scientific Administration, Lilly Research Laboratories,
Executive Director, Medical Research Administration, Lilly Research Laboratories, 1994–1995
Director, Federal Government Relations, Eli Lilly and Company, 1993–1994
Director, State Government and Community Relations, Eli Lilly and Company, 1991–1993
Director, Community Relations, Eli Lilly and Company, 1990–1991
Secretary and General Counsel, Advanced Cardiovascular Systems, Inc., a subsidiary of Eli Lilly
  and Company, 1987–1990
Attorney, Eli Lilly and Company, 1980–1987
Attorney, Pillsbury, Madison & Sutro, 1979–1980


Member, Women's College Coalition Board of Directors, 2014–Present
Emerita Trustee, Wellesley College Board of Trustees, 2014–Present, (Trustee 2002–2014; Chair 2007–2011)
Member, Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges Council of Presidents, 2012–Present
Honorary Director, Indiana University Foundation, 2007–Present (Director 1998–2007)
Emerita Member, Maurer School of Law Board of Visitors, Indiana University, 2007–Present (Member 1996–2007; Chair 2001)
Member, Indiana University President's Council, 1990–Present
Director, Wellesley College Alumnae Association 1995–1998


Member, CVS Health Board of Directors, March 2015–Present
Member, The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation Board of Directors, October 2014–Present
Member, Parnassus Funds Board of Trustees, 2013–Present
Member, The Commonwealth Club of California Board of Governors, 2013–Present
Emerita Board Member, Indianapolis Downtown, Inc., 2007–Present
Emerita Board Member, Women’s Fund of Central Indiana, 2001–Present

Member, WFYI Campaign Oversight Committee, 2010–2011
Member, Economic Club of Indiana Board of Governors, 2008–2011 (President 2009–2010)
Board Member, The Mind Trust, 2006–2011
Member, United Way of Central Indiana Women’s Initiative, 2003–2011 (Chair 2003–2005)
Member, Board of Advisors of the Center for Urban Policy and the Environment, 2001–2011
Member, United Way of Central Indiana Resource Development Committee, 1998–2011
Member, Lilly Cares Foundation Board, 2006–2010
Vice President, Economic Club of Indiana Board of Governors, 2008–2009
Member, Capital Improvement Board of Managers (of Marion County, Indiana), 2000–2008
Member, United Way of America Women’s Leadership Council, 2005–2007
Chair, Board of Directors of Indianapolis Downtown, Inc., 2005–2007 (Member since 1996)
Member, United Way of America Board of Trustees, 2006
Director, AmerUs Group Co., 2001–2005
Chair, Archdiocese of Indianapolis Spirit of Service Award Event, 2005 (Vice-Chair 2004)
Member, Maurer School of Law, Indiana University, Dean Search Committee, 2002–2003
Member, Wellesley College National Development and Outreach Council, 1998–2002
Director, Indianapolis Life Insurance Company, 1997–2001
Board Member, Women's Fund of Central Indiana, 1995–2001
Director, Indy Festivals, Inc., 1995–2001
Member, Women’s Fund of Central Indiana Oversight Committee, 2001
Director, Big Brothers of Greater Indianapolis, 1995–2000
Member, Indianapolis Committee for the I.U. School of Law - Bloomington, Capital Campaign, 1995–2000
Member, Business-Government Relations Council, 1993–2000
Member, Bank One Advisory Board, 1999
Trustee, Citizens Gas and Coke Utility, 1998–1999
Director, Bank One, Indiana, 1992–1998
Member, United Way of Central Indiana Strategic Planning Committee, 1994–1998
Member, Forum on Women in Philanthropy Steering Committee, 1995–1996
Member, Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce Nominating Committee, 1995–1996
Member, American Red Cross Advisory Council, 1990–1994
Member, Arts Council of Indianapolis Development Committee, 1992–1993
Member, Indianapolis Museum of Art Audience Development Committee 1992–1993
Member, Steering Committee, Women's Leadership Initiative, 1992–1993
Director, United Way of Central Indiana, 1992–1993
Chair, Women's Division, United Way of Central Indiana, 1991–1993
Member, Conference Board Contributions Council, 1990–1993
Member, Minority Achiever's Dinner Committee, Center for Leadership Development, 1990–1993
Member, Executive Committee, Indianapolis Campaign for Healthy Babies, 1990–1993
Chair, Forum on Women in Philanthropy, 1992
Member, Executive Committee, Strategic Planning for Indianapolis Residents Investing in Tomorrow
  (SPIRIT), 1990–1991
Member, 1991 NCAA Final Four Local Organizing Committee, 1990–1991


African American Regional Educational Alliances, Inc. African American Women in Education Who LEAD: 2016 Mary McLeod Bethune Leader of Distinction Award, 2016
KGO TV's Profiles of Excellence Award, 2014
CEDAW Women's Human Rights Award for Education, 2014
San Francisco Business Times' Most Influential Women in Business Award, 2013, 2014
Indiana University Bloomington, Honorary Doctorate, Humane Letters, 2013
Commencement Speaker, Indiana University Bloomington, 2013
National Coalition of 100 Black Women, Inc. San Francisco Chapter Golden Girls Hats and Gloves
  Tea Award, 2013
California Leadership Legacy of Leadership Trailblazer Award, 2012
College Mentor for Kids Lifetime Achievement Award, 2011
Girl Scout Leadership Award, 2009
Madam C. J. Walker Hall of Fame, Lifetime of Service, 2008
Indianapolis Business Journal’s Influential Women, 2008
Eli Lilly and Company Chairman’s Ovation Award, 2007
Indiana Lawyer’s Distinguished Barrister Award, 2007
Community Service Award, Archdiocese of Indianapolis, 2006
Mayor’s Community Service Award, 2006
Hoosier Heritage Lifetime Achievement Award, 2006
Wabash College, Honorary Doctorate, 2005
Indiana University, Distinguished Alumni Service Award, 2003
Indiana Bar Foundation, Fellow, 1999
Academy of Law Alumni, Fellow, 1998
Indiana State Bar Association, Women in the Law Achievement Award, 1998   
Girls’ Inc. Touchstone Award, 1997
Most Influential Women in Indianapolis, 1996
Madame CJ Walker Award for Outstanding Achievement, 1993
Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis, Spirit of Philanthropy Award, 1992


“Shielding Institutional Mission from Financial Vagaries,” Trusteeship Volume: 18 Number: 5
  (September/October 2010)
“Keeping Faith with Your Educational Mission,” Trusteeship Volume: 17 Number: 5
  (September/October 2009)
“Focus on Priorities Key During Economic Uncertainty,” Trusteeship Volume: 17 Number: 2
  (March/April 2009)
“New Board Chair—New College President: Recipe for a Successful Working Relationship,”
  Trusteeship Volume: 16 Number: 4 (January/February 2008)


8:30 am–5:00 pm

President's Open
Office Hours

Contact Information

Mills Hall 109

P: 510.430.2094
F: 510.430.2256

Last Updated: 3/21/16