Mission & History
Facts About Mills
Notable Graduates
Student Stories
Photo Gallery
Sustainability at Mills
Contact Us

Diversity and Social Justice at Mills

Diversity and Social Justice Committee

The Mills College Diversity and Social Justice Committee (DSJC) promotes diversity and social justice within every aspect of the academic, co-curricular, residential, and administrative life of the College. To that end, the DC works to create proactive, sustainable strategies to generate and institutionalize attention to diversity in relation to race, ethnicity, gender/gender identity, religious, and spiritual beliefs, class, age, color, sexual orientation, ability, immigrant status, and national origin. The DC also works to address inequalities arising from any differential distribution of power, resources, and privilege at Mills, and to support initiatives that enable students, faculty, and staff to engage in social change leading to a more just and inclusive society.

The Committee is composed of members appointed by the President of Mills College. Committee membership includes not only faculty and staff members, but also appointed alumnae/i and student representatives.

Diversity and Social Justice Committee Members 2013–2014

Wah Cheng
Professor of History, Co-Chair

Micheline Beam
Alumnae Association Representative

Felby Chen
Career Development Advisor

Sonj Christopher
Undergraduate Student

David Donahue
Associate Provost and Professor of Education

Jocelyn Ferguson
Corporate and Foundations Relations Officer

Amy Franceschini
Assistant Professor of Art

Deborah Gartside
ASMC Vice President and Undergraduate Student Representative

Sabrina Kwist
Director of Engagement and Inclusion, Diversity and Social Justice Resource Center

Maya Lama
Graduate Student Representative

David Lee
Manager of Technology Training

Jim Oberhousen
Registrar's Office

Brian O'Rourke
Vice President for Enrollment Management

Julia Oparah
Professor of Ethnic Studies

Kim Phillips

Michael Russell
Director of Human Resources

Rachel Russell
Coordinator of Diversity and Social Justice Resource Center Programs

Shannon Ryan
Assistant Director of Undergraduate Admission

Frishta Sharifi

Priya Shimpi
Assistant Professor of Education

Jenn Smith
Assistant Professor of Biology

Gabriella Tempestoso
Assistant Dean of Students and Director of Student Support Services

Neil Virtue
Head Swim Coach


Diversity & Social Justice Events

What We Believe

Diversity and Social Justice Statement

Community Principles


Who to Contact

Diversity and Social Justice Commitee

Diversity and Social Justice Resource Center

Social Justice and Diversity Committee, ASMC

Have your Say

Grievance Procedure

Feedback Form

Contact Information

Diversity Committee
Mills College
5000 MacArthur Blvd.

Oakland, CA 94613

Email: the committee

Last Updated: 9/5/14