Bookstore
Career Services
Center for Academic Excellence
Dining
Disability Services
Financial Aid
Health & Counseling
International Students
Mail & Copy Center
Peer Tutoring
Registrar & Records
Safety & Transportation
Student Accounts
Technology
» Writing Center

Home > Student Services >
Writing Center

Writing Center Fellows and Tutors

Writing Center Fellows

Open drop-in hours are available only with Writing Center Fellows at sites indicated and by appointment

Margaret (Maggie) Karr Margaret Karr
Second Year MA, English and American Literature
Writing Specialties: ELL, grammar, reading comprehension, brainstorming, literary analysis and thesis development
Other Interests: pedagogy, literary theory, psychology.
Hours: CAE M 3:00-6:00; W 3:00-6:00; F 2:30-3:30
Contact Info: mkarr@mills.edu

Diana NewbyDiana Newby
First Year MA, English
Writing Specialties: Brainstorming, strategizing and organizing; editing and polishing; grammar and sentence mechanics; critical and literary research and analysis
Other Interests: Gender and women's studies; creative writing
Hours:  CAE M 9:00-11:00; Th 1:00-5:00 or Cowell T 1:00-2:00
Contact Info: dnewby@mills.edu

Linda PufferLinda Puffer
Second Year MFA, Creative Writing (Poetry)
Writing Specialties: Brainstorming; strategizing and organizing essays; reference citations; self-editing skills; research tools; proposals and grant applications; technical and creative writing; cover letters; resumes
Other Interests: Working with resumers, ELL, SSD, commuter students
Hours:  Cowell M 3:00-5:00; W 11:00-2:00; 3:00-5:00; Th 10:00-12:00
Contact Info: lpuffer@mills.edu

Tracy Lynn SchaferTracy Schafer
Second Year MFA, Creative Writing (Poetry)
Writing Specialties: Brainstorming; research; narrative and/or descriptive; critical analysis
Other Interests: History; art; art history; creative writing
Hours: Library T 12:00-2:00; 5:30-6:30; W 11:00-3:00
Contact Info: tschafer@mills.edu

Stephanie StottStephanie Stott
First Year MA, English
Writing Specialties: Brainstorming, outlining, organizing, sentence structure, literature analysis, visual analysis, screenwriting
Other Interests: film, psychology, education
Hours: CAE M 9:00-11:00; T 1:00-2:00; Th 1:00-2:00; F 10:00-1:00
Contact Info: sstott@mills.edu

Aiden ThomasAidan Thomas
First Year MFA, Prose
Writing Specialties: Outlining, organization, visual and literary analysis, creative prose, psychology and sociology (research and analysis)
Other Interests: Feminism, gender and sexuality, and literary critiques
Hours:  Library M 5:30-7:30; W 5:30-7:30; Th 5:30-7:30; F 4:30-5:30
Contact Info: stthomas@mills.edu

Writing Center Tutors

Schedule appointments by contacting tutor through email or CAE

Nina Adelson
Senior, Psychology
Writing Specialties: Psychology; sociology; research papers; citations (APA and MLA); literature analysis
Other Interests: Resumes and CVs
Contact Info: nadelson@mills.edu

Heather Fuchs
Senior, Women, Gender, & Sexualities Studies (WGSS) and Political, Legal, & Economic Analysis with Legal Emphasis (PLEA-Legal)
Writing Specialties:  Brainstorming; "getting started"; social science research
Other Interests:  Navigating legal research; creative writing dialogue
Contact Info: hfuchs@mills.edu

Risa Gearhart 
Sophomore, Ecology
Writing Specialties: Theses; research; citations; bibliographies; fluency; grammar editing
Other Interests: Resumes; abstracts; hard science reports
Contact Info: lgearhart@mills.edu

Evan Kravette
Senior, Ethnic Studies (major) and Queer Studies (minor)
Writing Specialties: Writing about theory, politics, and race/gender/sexuality
Contact Info: ekravette@mills.edu 

Natalie Meier
Junior, English-Creative Writing (major) and Journalism (minor)
Writing Specialties: Brainstorming; citations; outlines; sentence fluency
Other Interests: News articles (journalism)
Contact Info: nmeier@mills.edu

Olivia Mertz
Senior, English-Creative Writing 
Writing Specialties:  Analytical papers, researching, brainstorming (across disciplines and creative writing)
Other Interests: Abstracts, resumes, cover letters
Contact Info: omertz@mills.edu

Zenzele Olatunji
Sophomore, English Literature
Writing Specialties: Argument analysis; determining what’s missing in a logic chain; brainstorming; outlining; close reading; literary analysis; essay structuring; quotation integration
Other Interests: MLA citation; ethnic studies; rhetorical devices and modes; fallacies and logic
Contact Info: zolatunji@mills.edu

Maggie Slover
Senior, English
Writing Specialties: ESL; literature survey courses; study skills
Contact Info: mslover@mills.edu

Lauren Thiemann
Junior, English
Writing Specialties: Brainstorming; research; grammar; structure
Other Interests: Spanish grammar and writing
Contact Info: lthiemann@mills.edu  

Brittne Walker
Senior, Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies and English
Writing Specialties: Literature analysis
Other Interests: Cover Letters; gender; rhetoric; epistemology
Contact Info: bwalker@mills.edu

Charlotte Watter
First Year, Post-Bac Pre-Med
Writing Specialties: Essay planning and organization; timed essay practice; research; citations and works cited pages; history and social sciences writing
Other Interests: Archaeology; visual and medical anthropology
Contact Info: cwatter@mills.edu

 

Overview

How We Can Help

Appointments

Preparing for Your Appointment

What to Expect During Your Session

Plagiarism and Other Policies

Tutorials and Writing Resources

Writing Fellow and Tutor Profiles

Writing Tutor Application

Contact Information

Reinhardt Hall
Rms. 251, 252
P: 510.430.3360
E: writing_ctr@mills.edu

Last Updated: 2/21/14