Undergraduate
Graduate
Faculty
Course Descriptions
Course Schedule
» Academic Calendar
Library
Study Abroad
Internships
Grants & Special Programs
Summer Session
January Term
Home > Academics >
Calendars

2016–2017 Academic Calendar

Fall Semester 2016
Monday August 1 Tuition and fees due (students whose payments are not received by this date may be assessed a $250 late fee)
Saturday-Tuesday August 20-23 • New Student Orientation
• Residence halls open at 9:00 am for new and readmitted students
Monday August 22 Residence halls open at 9:00 am for continuing students
Tuesday August 23 Graduate Student Orientation
Tuesday-Friday August 23-26 Registration for new students (students registering after this date may be assessed a $250 late registration fee)
Wednesday August 24 First day of instruction
Monday September 5 Labor Day Holiday
Wednesday September 7 • Last day to add
• Last day to increase credit value
• Last day to select change to or from audit option
Friday September 23 Convocation

Monday-
Wednesday

October 10-19 Priority Registration for January term 2017.  See the "January Term Course Info" link for important registration dates.
Wednesday October 19 • Last day to drop without a "W"
• Last day to decrease credit value
• Last day to change from graded to P/NP or from P/NP to graded
Friday October 28 Last day for graduating seniors to declare a minor
Wednesday November 2 Last day to withdraw from an individual class.  A "W" will appear on the transcript
Monday–Wednesday November 7–16 Priority Registration for continuing and returning students for spring 2017 (continuing and returning students not registered by November 16 may be assessed a $250 late registration fee)
Tuesday November 22 Master's theses and doctoral dissertations for degrees to be conferred January 2017 (fall 2016) due in the Library
Wednesday November 23 Fall course evaluations open
Wednesday–Friday November 23-25 Thanksgiving Holidays
Thursday December 1

Last day to file graduation application for degrees to be conferred May (spring 2017) or September (summer 2017)

Monday December 5 • Last day of instruction
• Last day to take a Leave of Absence or Withdraw for the current semester
• Last day to file an Incomplete Grade Request without documentation
Tuesday–Wednesday December 6-7 Reading Days
Wednesday December 7 Fall course evaluations close
Thursday–Tuesday December 8-13 Final Exams
Tuesday December 13 Last day to file an Incomplete Grade Request with documentation
Wednesday December 14

Residence halls close at noon

Monday December 19 Grades due by faculty

back to top

Spring Semester 2017
Monday January 2 Tuition and fees due (students whose payments are not received by this date may be assessed a $250 late fee)
Monday January 16 Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday
Tuesday January 17

• New Student Orientation
• Residence halls open at 9:00 am for new and readmitted students

Tuesday-Friday January 17-20 Registration for new students (students registering after January 22 may be assessed a $250 late registration fee)
Wednesday January 18 First day of instruction
Wednesday February 1 • Last day to add
• Last day to increase credit value
• Last day to select change to or from audit option
Monday February 20 President's Day Holiday
Wednesday March 15 • Last day to drop without a "W"
• Last day to decrease credit value
• Last day to change from graded to P/NP or from P/NP to graded
Monday-Friday March 20-24 Spring Break

Monday-
Friday

 February 28-June 9 Registration for summer session 2017.  See the "Summer Session 2017" link for important registration dates.
Wednesday March 29 Last day to withdraw from an individual class.  A "W" will appear on the transcript
Monday-Wednesday April 3-12 Priority Registration for continuing and returning students for fall 2017 (continuing and returning students not registered by April 13 may be assessed a $250 late fee)
Friday April 14 Master’s theses and doctoral dissertations for degrees to be conferred May 2017 due in the Library
Friday April 21  Spring course evaluations open
Monday May 1

Last day to file graduation application for degrees to be conferred January (fall 2017)

Wednesday May 3 • Last day of instruction
• Last day to take a Leave of Absence or Withdraw for the current semester
• Last day to file an Incomplete Grade Request without documentation
Thursday-Friday May 4-5 Reading Days
Friday May 5 Spring course evaluations close
Saturday-Thursday May 6-11 Final Exams
Thursday May 11 Last day to file an Incomplete Grade Request with documentation
Friday May 12

• Residence halls close for non-graduating students at noon

Saturday May 13

129th Commencement

Sunday May 14 Residence halls close at noon for graduating students
Friday May 19 Grades due by faculty

back to top




Last Updated: 7/21/16