Back to Undergraduate

Areas of Study

African & African Diaspora Studies
American Studies
Anthropology
Art & Technology
Art History
Art Studio
Asian Studies
Athletics, Physical Education, & Recreation
Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Biology
Biopsychology
Book Art
Business Economics
» Chemistry
Child Development
Chinese
Computer Science
Dance
Data Science
Economics
Education
Engineering
English
Environmental Science
Environmental Studies
Ethnic Studies
French & Francophone Studies
Global Humanities & Critical Thought
Government
History
Individualized Major
International Relations
Journalism
Latin American Studies
Law
Letters Division
Mathematics
Medicine/Health Sciences
Music
Philosophy
Physics
Politics, Economics, Policy & Law
Pre-Nursing
Psychology
Public Health & Health Equity
Public Policy
Queer Studies
Religious Studies
Social Sciences Division
Sociology
Spanish & Spanish American Studies
Theater Studies
Women, Leadership & Social Change
Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies

Summer Academic Programs

Hellman Program

Summer Academic Workshop (SAW)
Home > Academics > Faculty >
Chemistry

Faculty & Staff

Sandra M. Banks
Adjunct Professor
NSB 118, 510.430.3133, smbanks@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Chemical education, organic chemistry-spectroscopy and organic chemistry reaction mechanisms

John S. Brabson
Professor of Chemistry
Program Head of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Program Head of Post-Baccalaureate Pre-Medical
NSB 128, 510.430.2203, johnb@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Antifungal compounds and their modes of action, sphingolipid metabolism in Pichia ciferrii

Kristina Faul
Professor of Geochemistry and Environmental Geology
Rhoda Goldman Professorship in Environmental Science
NSB 119, 510.430.2202, kfaul@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Oceanography, climate change, the chemistry of past oceans, paleoceanography

David Keeports
Professor of Chemistry and Physics
Department Head, Fall
NSB 125, 510.430.2162, dave@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Molecular spectroscopy, physics and chemistry education, software development

Beth Kochly
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Scheffler Chair
NSB 129, 510.430.2085, bkochly@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Mechanistic studies and reactive intermediates in organic chemistry, organic reactions in ionic liquids

Elisabeth Wade
Kilgore-Snyder Professorship
Professor of Chemistry
Department Head
Program Head of Environmental Science, Fall
NSB 117, 510.430.3132, ewade@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Chemical kinetics, atmospheric pollutants, atmospheric and combustion chemistry

back to top

Visiting Scholars

Terrence Chang
Assistant Adjunct Professor
techang@mills.edu

Ronald Chiarello
Associate Adjunct Professor
NSB 118, 510.430.2137, rchiarello@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesdays 12:00-1:00, Mondays-Fridays 10:00-12:30
Professional Interests: DNA/RNA synthesis and application development, novel labeling techniques for biomolecules, process development in biotechnology

Mark Creelman
Assistant Adjunct Professor
NSB 118, mcreelman@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment
Professional Interests: Chemical Education, Photochemistry, Ultrafast Chemistry, Spectroscopy, Development of open-source lab tools

Lynn Delker
Adjunct Professor
NSB 118, 510.430.3133, ldelker@mills.edu
Office Hours: Mondays 12:00-12:50 in NSB 105, Mondays, Tuesdays 1:00-2:00, Wednesdays 9:00-9:50, Fridays 1:00-2:00 or by appointment in NSB 118
Professional Interests: Physics and science education

Mircea Gheorghiu
Assistant Adjunct Professor
NSB 118, mgheorghiu@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursdays 12:05-1:05
Professional Interests: ketene chemistry, stereochemistry of cycloaddition reactions, catalytic degenerate isomerization (homomerization) of aromatic hydrocarbons, small rings, synthesis of labeled compounds (2H, 13C), heterocyclic compounds, chemical education (new experiments based upon green chemistry principles, ionic liquids, organometallic ligands synthesis, etc), computational chemistry (molecular mechanics, ab initio and DFT calculations)

Heike Held
Assistant Adjunct Professor
NSB 118, 510.430.2137, hheld@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursdays 12:15-12:45
Professional Interests: Bioorganic chemistry, use of synthetic organic chemistry to study biological processes

Mahin Hemmati
Assistant Adjunct Professor
mhemmati@mills.edu

Staff

Antonio Arredondo
Laboratory Coordinator
NSB 205, 510.430.2374, aarredondo@mills.edu


Faculty Administrative Assistant
NSB 111, 510.430.2317

back to top

Program Information
Overview

» Faculty and Staff

Requirements

Courses
Full Course List

Chemistry Course List

Schedule of Courses for
the Current Semester


Transfer Guidelines for Science Majors
Junior Transfer Students (pdf, 17.5k)

Activities & Resources
Awards

Peer Tutoring

Student Activities
Free Radicals Science Club

Recent Graduates

Recent Research Internships

Links
General Information

Tutorials & Study Aids

Research Resources

Contact Information

P: 510.430.2317
F: 510.430.3314
E: chemistry@mills.edu

Last Updated: 9/14/16