Faculty | Visiting Scholars & Artists | Staff

Graduate Dance Faculty
Kara Davis Kara Davis
Artist in Residence
Richards Lodge 103,
510.430.3261, kadavis@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment
More about Kara Davis

Professional Interests: Classical ballet, improvisation, contemporary dance and partnering, dance pedagogy, choreographic/collaborative process, corporeal empowerment
Sonya Delwaide Sonya Delwaide
Professor of Dance
Richards Lodge 104,
510.430.3258, sdelwaid@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment

Professional Interests: Repertory company director, modern techniques, ballet, composition, partnering, movement for actors, dance theater, repertory
Molissa Fenley Molissa Fenley
Professor of Dance, Spring
Richards Lodge 103
510.430.3185, mfenley@mills.edu

Office Hours: Thursday 4:00-5:00
Professional Interests: Choreography, repertory, modern dance forms, thesis supervision
Shinichi Iova-Koga Shinichi Iova-Koga
Artist in Residence
Richards Lodge 105,
510.430.3259, siovakoga@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment
More about Shinichi Iova-Koga

Professional Interests: Aikido, Nei Gong, Qi Gong, Photography, Noh Theater, Shakuhachi, Film making
Ann Murphy Ann Murphy
Associate Professor
Richards Lodge 107,
510.430.3301, amurphy@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment

Professional Interests: The role of the American West in the rise of 20th century dance; the screendance partnership of Bill Robinson and Shirley Temple; Africanist influences in the dance of Molissa Fenley; dance criticism; dance at the margins; contemporary ballet
Sheldon Smith Sheldon Smith
Visiting Assistant Professor
Department Head
Richards Lodge 101,
510.430.3260, shsmith@mills.edu
Office Hours: Wednesday 2:30-4:00, and by appointment
More about Sheldon Smith

Professional Interests:Dancing, making dances, making music, working with dance and technology, making video art

Visiting Scholars and Artists

Laura Ellis
Assistant Adjunct Professor
510.430.2175, lellis@mills.edu

Anne-Rene Petrarca
Assistant Adjunct Professor
510.430.2175, apetrarca@mills.edu

Patricia Reedy
Visiting Artist, Spring
Richards Lodge 102, 510.428.1155, preedy@mills.edu
Office Hours: By appointment
Professional Interests: Children's dance, choreography, creativity, professionalizing the field of dance education

Staff

Sylvia Nuzzo Philis
Faculty Administrative Assistant
Richards Room 108, 510.430.2175, snuzzophilis@mills.edu

back to top



Last Updated: 11/30/16