Faculty | Visiting Scholars & Artists | Staff

Graduate Dance Faculty
Sonya Delwaide Sonya Delwaide
Professor of Dance
Richards Lodge 104,
510.430.3258, sdelwaid@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday 11:00-12:00, and by appointment

Professional Interests: Repertory company director, modern techniques, ballet, composition, partnering, movement for actors, dance theater, repertory
Molissa Fenley Molissa Fenley
Professor of Dance, Spring
Richards Lodge 103
510.430.3185, mfenley@mills.edu

Office Hours: Thursday 4:00-5:00
Professional Interests: Choreography, repertory, modern dance forms, thesis supervision
Ann Murphy
Associate Professor
Richards Lodge 107,
510.430.3301, amurphy@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment

Professional Interests: Dance criticism and analysis, women and dance, dance and literature

Visiting Scholars and Artists

Kara Davis
Artist in Residence
Richards Lodge 103, 510.430.3261, kadavis@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment only
Professional Interests: Classical ballet, improvisation, contemporary dance and partnering, dance pedagogy, choreographic/collaborative process, corporeal empowerment

Laura Ellis
Assistant Adjunct Professor
510.430.2175, lellis@mills.edu

Shinichi Iova-Koga
Artist in Residence
Richards Lodge 105, 510.430.3259, siovakoga@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment
Professional Interests: Physical theater, re-inventions of defined dance forms, traditional dance of Japan, Aikido, Judo, Tai Chi, photography and film making

Anne-Rene Petrarca
Assistant Adjunct Professor
510.430.2175, apetrarca@mills.edu

Patricia Reedy
Visiting Artist, Spring
Richards Lodge 102, 510.428.1155, preedy@mills.edu
Office Hours: By appointment
Professional Interests: Children's dance, choreography, creativity, professionalizing the field of dance education

Sheldon Smith
Visiting Assistant Professor
Department Head
Richards Lodge 101, 510.430.3260, shsmith@mills.edu
Office Hours: Wednesday 2:30-4:00 and by appointment
More about Sheldon Smith
Professional Interests: Dancing, making dances, making music, working with dance and technology, making video art


Sylvia Nuzzo Philis
Faculty Administrative Assistant
Richards Room 108, 510.430.2175, snuzzophilis@mills.edu

back to top

Last Updated: 9/8/16