Click here to learn more about why graduate students choose the Mills College MBA Program, located in Oakland, Calfornia.

Click here for information how you can visit the welcoming, safe Mills College campus, located in the heart of the San Francisco Bay Area.

Click here for information applying to Mills College located in the San Francisco Bay Area.

Click here to request information about the MBA Programs at the Lorry I. Lokey Graduate School of Business in California.


Core Faculty | Visiting Scholars | Staff

Office of the Dean

Carolyn Sherwood Call
Acting Dean
MBA Academic Director
GSB 236
510.430.3365, csherwoodcall@mills.edu

Professional Interests: Climate change policy, sustainable business, strategies, environmental economics, public policy, applied microeconomics

Lori Bamberger
Director, Public Policy Program
Professor of Practice
GSB 237, 510.430.3375, lbamberger@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday 1:30 pm-2:30 pm, Tuesday 12:00 pm-1:00 pm, and by appointment

Professional Interests: Affordable housing and asset-building, energy efficiency and financing, and cross-sectoral alliance-building


Graduate School of Business Faculty
Kate Karniouchina Kate Karniouchina
Associate Professor of Business
GSB 229
650.892.3755, kkarniouchina@mills.edu
Office Hours: Wednesday 6:30 pm and by appointment

Professional Interests: Marketing, marketing/finance/strategy interface issues, new product development, motion pictures, Bayesian estimation and hierarchical data structures
Lorien Rice
Associate Professor of Economics
James Irvine Professorship
GSB 233
510.430.3113, lrice@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday 10:30 am-11:30 am, Tuesday 11:00 am-11:30 am, Wednesday 1:30 pm-2:00 pm, Thursday 1:30 pm-2:30 pm

Professional Interests: Labor economics, public policy, poverty, education economics, applied econometrics
Roger Sparks Roger Sparks
Professor of Economics
GSB 231
510.430.2137, sparks@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday 1:00-2:00, Tuesday 12:00-3:00 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Applied microeconomics, banking, energy economics, labor economics
Carol Theokary Carol Theokary
Assistant Professor of Business
GSB 227
510.430.2038, ctheokary@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursday 11:00 am-12:30 pm and by appointment

Professional Interests: Service design, healthcare supply chains, service quality, cost efficiency

back to top

Visiting Scholars
Jasmin Ansar

Jasmin Ansar
Adjunct Professor
GSB 235D
510.220.6918, 510.430.3303, jasminsparks@gmail.com
Office Hours: Monday 12:15 pm-1:00 pm, Tuesday 3:00 pm-3:45 pm, and by appointment

Professional Interests: Data analysis, forecasting, econometric modeling, energy markets, environmental economics

Seth Barad

Seth Barad
Professor of Business Practice
GSB 226
sbarad@mills.edu
Office Hours: Wednesday 3:00 pm-4:00 pm and by appointment

Professional Interests: Non-profit management, management consulting, management communications

Mark Bichsel

Mark Bichsel
Professor of Business Practice
GSB 235B
mbichsel@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursday 3:00 pm-4:00 pm and by appointment

Professional Interests: Accounting

Lisa Cain

Lisa Cain
Visiting Assistant Professor
GSB 235
510.517.1935, lcain@mills.edu

Professional Interests: Sales force management, entrepreneurship, social media and internet marketing

Neha Dave

Neha Dave
Adjunct Professor
GSB 228
510.430.2248, ndave@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursday 12:15-1:30 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Finance, micro and macro economic theory, development economics, economics of globalization, international trade and finance

Geoff Desa

Geoff Desa
Visiting Associate Professor
gdesa@mills.edu

Professional Interests: Social Entrepreneurship, Technology Entrepreneurship, Sustainability

Sam Evans

Sam Evans
Assistant Adjunct Professor
GSB 235
sevans@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday 2:00 pm-3:30 pm and by appointment

Professional Interests: Bioscience

Darcelle Lahr
Professor of Business Practice
GSB 230
510.430.2344
dlahr@mills.edu
Office Hours: Wednesday 4:00 pm-5:00 pm and by appointment

Professional Interests: Business growth strategy, business ethics, management consulting, entrepreneurship/small business management, program management

Jessica Notini
Associate Adjunct Professor
GSB 235
415.973.4570, notini@pacbell.net
Office Hours: By appointment only

Professional Interests: alternative dispute resolutions

Bruce Paton

Bruce Paton
Visiting Professor
GSB 235
bpaton@mills.edu

Professional Interests: Systems thinking and design thinking for sustainability, Business models for social innovation, Collaboration among business, government and civil society organizations, Design and implementation of effective voluntary initiatives

Rebecca Portnoy

Rebecca Portnoy
Assistant Adjunct Professor
GSB 235
rportnoy@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday 5:00 pm-6:00 pm and by appointment

Professional Interests: Managerial and organizational development

Dontae Rayford

Dontae Rayford
Assistant Professor of Practice
GSB 235
drayford@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment only

Professional Interests: Emerging hardware tech and virtual reality

Victoria Salinas

Victoria Salinas
Assistant Adjunct Professor
vsalinas@mills.edu

Professional Interests: Implementing major initiatives to assist communities in crisis mitigate risk, recover from adversity, and adapt to climate change

Martha Sellers
Associate Professor of Practice
GSB 230
510.430.2344
msellers@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursday 6:00 pm-7:00 pm and by appointment

Professional Interests: Credit risk, portfolio credit risk, corporate capital structure

Sheila Shain
Associate Professor of Practice
GSB 226
510.430.3328
sshain@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday 8:45 am-9:15 am, Tuesday 6:15 pm-6:45 pm, and by appointment

Professional Interests: Technology in accounting and in education, business ethics

back to top

Staff

Ilana Golin
Director, Strategic Initiatives and Partnerships
GSB 210, 510.430.3389, igolin@mills.edu

Laura Benoit
Assistant Director, Career Services
GSB 214B, 510.430.2179, lbenoit@mills.edu

Chris Fogarty
Career Advisor and Executive Coach
GSB 214C, 510.430.2389, cfogarty@mills.edu

Erin Connolly
Assistant Director of Admissions
GSB 211, 510.430.3173, econnolly@mills.edu

Ife Tayo Walker
Manager of MBA/MPP Student Services and Operations
GSB 214A, 510.430.2147, iwalker@mills.edu

Keelia Murphy
Manager, Office of the Dean and Faculty Support, MBA/MPP
GSB 219, 510.430.2099, kmurphy@mills.edu

Evan Friedenberg
Administrative Assistant
GSB 217, 510.430.2194, gsb@mills.edu

back to top

Last Updated: 9/30/16