Why Mills


P: 510.430.3170

F: 510.430.3379

E: education@mills.edu

Faculty & Staff
Elizabeth Baker Elizabeth Baker
Associate Professor of Practice
TTS/Math-Science
Education 223
510.430.3154, ebaker@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment

Professional Interests: Teacher research, including Japanese lesson study; pre-service and in-service science and mathematics education; gender and equity education in the urban classroom; constructivist education
Gabriela Cervantes-Powell Gabriela Cervantes-Powell
Budget Manager
Kimball 5
510.430.3255, gpowellcervantes@mills.edu
Ruth Cossey Ruth Cossey
Professor, MEET/TTS Program Chair
TTS/Math-Science
Education 219
510.430.3159, rcossey@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday 1:30-2:30 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Preservice and inservice mathematics and science education, sociology of education in urban environments, mathematics reform in elementary and secondary schools
Tomas Galguera Tomás Galguera
Professor of Education
TTS/MEET
Education 217
tomasgs@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday 1:00-3:30 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Teacher education for language-minority students, bilingual education and English-language development programs, ethnolinguistic diversity in education
Heather Grimes Heather Grimes
Academic Coordinator; Credential Analyst
Educational Leadership, Early Childhood Education, Infant Mental Health
Kimball House 108
510.430.3293, hgrimes@mills.edu
Nolan Jones Nolan Jones
Director, EdD Program
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Education 211
510.430.3380, nojones@mills.edu

Professional Interests: Youth development; critical, transformative, and Hip Hop pedagogies, cultural capital and constructivism; green technology and community health
Joseph E. Kahne Joseph E. Kahne
Senior Researcher, School of Education
Kimball House 13
jkahne@mills.edu

Professional Interests: Democracy and education, digital media and public participation, urban educational change and school policy, service learning, youth development
Diane Ketelle Diane Ketelle
Dean, Wert Professor of Education; Director of the Center for Urban Schools and Partnerships
Educational Leadership; Administrative Service Credential

Education 221, dketelle@mills.edu

Professional Interests: Administrator knowledge, administrator stories, narrative inquiry, fictionalizing real experience
Linda Kroll Linda Kroll
Professor of Education; Associate Dean of School of Education; Mary and Richard Holland Professorship in Early Childhood Education
Early Childhood Education
On sabbatical 2016
Education 220
lindak@mills.edu

Professional Interests: Cognitive development, development of literacy, application of developmental theory to educational issues, teacher education, teacher development including development of teachers from their training throughout their careers
Heather Grimes Argelia Lara
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Education 214
510.430.3152
Office Hours: Tuesday 8:00-9:00, Wednesday 2:30-3:30 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Chicana/o Latina/o Education, Immigrant and Undocumented Education, Critical Race Studies in Education, Higher Education Equity and Access, and Educational Leadership
Barbara LiSanti Barbara LiSanti
Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science; Trefethen Faculty Awardee
TTS/Math-Science
CPM Room 200B
510.430.2247, barbara@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday and Thursday 12:15-1:15 (Stern 35) and by appointment (CPM 200B)

Professional Interests: Artificial Intelligence applications in education, cognitive science, intelligent tutoring systems, computer science education, linear algebra
Heather Grimes Alison McDonald
Director, Administrative Credential Program, Master’s degree in Educational Leadership Program
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Education 210
510.430.3148, amcdonald@mills.edu

Professional Interests: K-12 school Leadership; transformation and sustainability in leadership positions
Pedro E. Nava Pedro E. Nava
Assistant Professor of Education, Educational Leadership
Education 222
510.430.3166, pnava@mills.edu
Office Hours: Wednesday 4:00-6:00 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Urban and rural education, Latina/o education, school-community partnerships, participatory action research, communities and schools, critical pedagogy, critical race theory, (im)migrant education, geographic information systems
Heather Grimes Esther Ohito
TTS/Humanities
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Education 218
510.430.3148

Professional interests: Social justice teacher education, urban education, critical theories and pedagogies, curriculum studies, race and gender in education, affect/emotion and embodiment in education; (black) feminist research, narrative inquiry
Linda Perez Linda Perez
Abbie Valley Professor of Education; Co-Director of Infant Mental Health Program
Child Life, Special Education; Infant Mental Health
Education 213
510.430.2328, lmperez@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday 11:30-12:30, Thursday 12:00-1:00

Professional Interests: At-risk children and families, the application of developmental theory to special education issues, mental health and developmental disorders of infancy and early childhood
Nikole Richardson Nikole Richardson
Assistant Adjunct Professor; TTS/Humanities
Education 211
510.430.3380, nrichardson@mills.edu
Office Hours: Wednesday 1:00-2:00 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Teacher development, culturally responsive pedagogy, school contexts for teacher learning, history/social studies education, professional learning communities
Sharlene Shah Sharlene Shah
Academic Coordinator
Teachers for Tomorrow's Schools
Kimball 108
510.430.3146, sshah@mills.edu
Priya Shimpi Priya Shimpi
Associate Professor of Education
Lynn T. White, Jr., Professorship
Director of Language Development Laboratory
Early Childhood Education
Education 215
pshimpi@mills.edu

Professional Interests: Communicative, social, and cognitive development in a diversity of learning environments; translating early childhood research into practice; the role of culture and experience in childrens attention and learning
Natalie Stone Natalie Stone
Director of Strategic Initiatives and Partnerships
Education 202
510.430.3170, nstone@mills.edu
Natalie Stone Sara Sutherland
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Education 212
510.430.3151, ssutherl@mills.edu

Professional Interests: teacher education, design thinking in education, risk-taking behavior in young children, affordances of learning environments and materials, professional learning communities, emergent curriculum
Tess Unger Tess Unger
Executive Assistant to the Dean and Communications Coordinator
Education 203
510.430.3190, tunger@mills.edu
Wanda Watson Wanda Watson
Assistant Professor
TTS/Multiple Subjects Program Director
Education 216
510.430.3161
wwatson@mills.edu
Office Hours: Wednesday 3:00-4:30

Professional Interests: Critical, inclusive, and culturally relevant teaching; urban teacher education; intersections of race, class, and gender in education; youth organizing; teaching and learning in the humanities
Vicky Webber Vicky Webber
Assistant Adjunct Professor
TTS
Education 219
vwebber@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment

Professional Interests: History and philosophy of education, ethnomathematics, teaching for equity and social justice
Sabrina Zirkel Sabrina Zirkel
Professor of Educational Leadership
szirkel@mills.edu
On leave Fall 2016

Professional Interests: Issues of race and ethnicity in education, creating more effective multi-ethnic and urban schools, intergroup relations in schools, educational leadership for social change

back to top

Visiting Professors

Rebecca AkinRebecca Akin
Assistant Adjunct Professor
TTS
rakin@mills.edu

Professional Interests: Practitioner inquiry, youth participatory action research (YPAR), urban education, visual research methods, early childhood literacy

Merri BesdenMerri Besden
Assistant Adjunct Professor
mbesden@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment

Professional Interests: Inclusive practices, Reggio Emilia inspired classrooms, sensory integration, facilitating social and pre-academic skills using photography and visual strategies

Kevin Collins
Visiting Assistant Professor
925.944.6850, Ext. 2010, kcollins@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment

Professional Interests: School finance and equity, educational administration, utilization of student data, secondary education

Ellen Dahlke
Visiting Professor
edahlke@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment

 

Irenka Dominguez-Pareto
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Education 214, idominguezpareto@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday 10:00-11:00 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Child development in context, equity issues in parental involvement policy and practice, gender and schooling, educational advocacy in special education, latino communities and schools, family studies, language socialization and discourse analysis, early childhood education, critical education theory, feminist theory, research methods, ethnography

Victoria Forrester
Lecturer
vforrester@slusd.us
Office Hours: by appointment

Professional Interests: The principalship, teaching and learning, Special Education, educational equity

Rebecca Hawley
Visiting Assistant Professor, Spring
510.332.4750, rhawley@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment

Professional Interests: Early intervention; Head Start and early Head Start; early childhood education advocacy and education; race and ethnicity and issues of early education and access

Korie LeighKorie Leigh
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Education 212, 510.430.3151, kleigh@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday 12:00–1:30, Tuesday 2:00–3:00 and 5:30–6:30

Professional Interests: Child Life in alternative settings, pediatric hospice and palliative care, thanatology, childhood grief, sibling grief, disenfranchised grief, attachment and loss, expressive arts interventions, self-care, vicarious trauma, person-centered child therapy, transformative education, supervision in child life, and qualitative research methods.

Betty LinBetty Lin
Adjunct Professor
Education 212, 510.430.3149blin@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment

Professional Interests: Early intervention and early childhood special education, infant mental health, early intervention advocacy and public policy, and cultural understanding when working with Asian families

Karen Mayfield-Ingram
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Education 219, 510.430.3159
Office Hours: by appointment

 

Eduardo Munoz Munoz
Lecturer, Fall
emunozmunoz@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment

Professional Interests: ELL schooling and programs, Sociology of education, Language ideologies, Latino parental involvement in schooling, Educational Partnerships.

Gerald Reyes
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Education 206
Office Hours: by appointment

Professional Interests: Urban education and schooling; Critical pedagogy; Linguistically, Culturally, and Politically relevant pedagogy, Critical social theory, Urban teacher education and development, Education leadership for social change and comprehensive school reform, Critical media and arts education, Youth development, English and Social Studies education, Participatory action research

Sara Sutherland
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Education 212
Office Hours: by appointment

 

Patricia NunleyPatricia Nunley
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Education 212, pnunley@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday 4:00-5:00, Tuesday 11:30-12:30, and Wednesday 11:30-12:30

Professional Interests: The student-teacher relationship between urban black males and their teachers, consultant and educational Coach for 100 Black Men of the Bay Area Community School, professional development diversity workshops, Head Start, chronic exposure to community violence as a trauma source, global ECE and western theories, African American mental wellness

Tracy Trujillo
Assistant Adjunct Professor
925.314.2525, Voicemail: 925.314.2525, t3trujillo@hotmail.com
Office Hours: by appointment

Professional Interests: Advocation of the health of infants, children, adolescents and young adults

Research Staff

Ben Bowyer
Senior Researcher
Civic Engagement Research Group
Kimball House 208
510.430.2165, bbowyer@mills.edu

Angela Dosalmas
Research Associate
Lesson Study Group
Kimball House 11
510.430.3276

Kathy Emerson
Research Associate
Lesson Study Group
Kimball House 101
510.430.3246

Chris Evans
Researcher
Civic Engagement Research Group
Kimball House 210
510.430.3359, cevans@mills.edu

Shelley Friedkin
Project Coordinator
Lesson Study Group
Kimball House 14
510.430.3350, friedkin@mills.edu

Erica Hodgin
Associate Director
Lesson Study Group
Kimball House 11
510.430.2197, ngonzalez@mills.edu

Erica Hodgin
Associate Director
Civic Engagement Research Group
Kimball House 201
510.430.2302, ehodgin@mills.edu

back to top

Kevin Lai
Research Associate
Lesson Study Group
Kimball House 11
510.430.3190, klai@mills.edu

Catherine Lewis
Distinguished Research Scholar
Lesson Study Group
Kimball House C
510.430.3129, clewis@mills.edu

Julie McGrew
Administrative Assistant
Lesson Study Group
Kimball House 101
510.430.2197, jmcgrew@mills.edu

Ellen Middaugh
Research Director
Civic Engagement Research Group
Kimball House 10
510.430.3357, emiddaug@mills.edu

Sandra Mistretti
Project Administrator
Civic Engagement Research Group
Kimball House 15
510.430.2115, smistret@mills.edu

Stan Pesick
Co-Director
OUSD/Mills College/ACOE Humanities Collaborative,
Educating for Democracy in a Digital Age
Kimball House 2
510.430.3190, spesick@mills.edu

Amy Schoenblum
Co-Director
Materials Development Manager
Lesson Study Group
Kimball House C
510.430.3217

back to top

Teacher Scholars

Laura Alvarez
Program Associate
Education 203, 510.430.3190, lauraalvarez100@gmail.com

Julia Beers
Program Associate
Kimball House 102, jbeers@mills.edu

Claire Bove
Associate Director
Kimball House 102, cbove@mills.edu

Anna Richert
Faculty Advisor
anna@mills.edu

Aija Simmons
Director of Teacher Leadership
asimmons@mills.edu

Sarah Sugarman
Program Associate
Kimball House 102, ssugarman@mills.edu

Carrie Wilson
Executive Director
Kimball House 104, 510.206.8595, cwilson@mills.edu

Jean Witzke
Administrative Assistant
Kimball House 102, 510.684.1097, jwitzke@mills.edu




Last Updated: 9/20/16