Course Descriptions
Course Schedule
Academic Calendar
Study Abroad
» Grants & Special Programs
Summer Session
January Term

Home > Academics > Grants And Special Programs >
Grants and Special Programs

Public Radio Reporting

Awards 2008

Sigma Delta Chi Award
for best radio documentary 

2008 Edward R. Murrow Award (regional)
for Radio/large market News Documentary
The Drop Out Dilemma

2008 Mark of Excellence Awards
2008 Regional winners
News report:
First place, Thea Chroman
Second place, Sandhya Dirks
Radio Depth Reporting:
First place, The Drop Out Dilemma

2008 National Mark of Excellence
Honoring the Best of Student Journalism
Radio In-Depth Reporting
• National Winner: WILL Radio Staff, University of Illinois, "China: Beyond the Great Wall"
• National Finalist: Mills College Public Radio 2007, Mills College, "The Drop Out Dilemma"
• National Finalist: Adam Rhew, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, "Davina Jones Shooting"

2008 National Awards for Education Reporting
National Education Writers Association
First Prize—Larry Abramson and Producer Marisa Penaloza, National Public Radio—"Northwestern High Series"
Second Prize—Mills College Public Radio Reporting Class 2007, KALW-FM (Public Radio)—"The Drop Out Dilemma"
Special Citation—Emily Hanford, Alison Jones, Ben Shapiro and Deb George, American Public Media/North Carolina Public Radio, WUNC—"Put to the Test"

2008 American Women In Radio and TV/Gracie Awards
The Drop Out Dilemma, Mills College

2007 PRINDI-Public Radio News Directors Incorporated
Student award for feature reporting
Sarah Gonzalez, Prostitution in Oakland

Northern California Society of Professional Journalists
2006 Oustanding Student Journalist: Mills College Public Radio Reporting Class of 2006 (Annie Abernethy, Adina Lepp, Hallee Berg, Thea Chroman, Kristin Darling, Alexandra Kostoulas, and Ilana Murphy) for producing a two-part series on redevelopment issues in Oakland. Broadcast on KALW-FM.



Public Radio

Intro Class Stories
Fall, 2014

Fall, 2013

Fall 2012

Fall 2011

Fall 2010

Fall 2009

Fall 2008

Fall 2007

Intermediate Class Stories
Spring 2014

Spring 2013

Spring 2012

Spring 2011

Spring 2010

Spring 2009

Spring 2008

Spring 2007

About the Faculty

Course Descriptions


Public Radio in the Mills Quarterly

News Releases
Mills College instructor Holly Kernan is Journalist of the Year

Mills students win American Women in Radio and TV awards

National Awards for Education Reporting News Release

Journalists of the Year Award News Release

Next Generation Project News Release

Last Updated: 5/14/09