four students holding Mills flags

Convocation Ceremony

Friday, September 15, 2017
Holmgren Meadow
10:15 am–11:30 am

Convocation marks the formal beginning of the new academic year. The Mills community convenes to celebrate the graduating class, honor the academic achievements of students and faculty who are receiving special awards, and recognize Mills alumnae who have returned to campus for Reunion.

The Convocation pre-celebration begins with graduating seniors and faculty donning academic regalia and gathering for a breakfast reception before proceeding to Holmgren Meadow.

First-year students, sophomores, and juniors join their respective classes wearing their class color. Each class is assigned one of four colors based on the year of graduation:

  • the Class of 2018 is green
  • the Class of 2019 is blue
  • the Class of 2020 is purple
  • the Class of 2021 is red

The outgoing class shares its color with the incoming class, so the tradition continues every year.

The Convocation ceremony will begin promptly at 10:15 am at Holmgren Meadow. Classes normally held at 9:00, 10:00 and 11:00 am are cancelled for the event.