Public Lectures
Concert Hall
Honorary Committee
Plan Your Visit
Music At Mills
Giving To Mills
Press Room
Featured Concert

share Saturday, February 21, 2009 8:00 pm   Concert Hall
A champagne reception follows.

OPENING NIGHT: Pauline Oliveros with tony martin; Terry Riley; joseph kubera performs Roscoe Mitchell; Joan Jeanrenaud
Solo performances of works by pioneers in the experimentalist tradition

Experimentalist composers work without any preconceived notions about music; they embrace an openness to and an active search for new sounds and musical forms. Mills composers have played leading roles in the development of this tradition. The inaugural performance in the newly renovated Mills College Concert Hall celebrates the bold, unorthodox, and innovative artistic visions of a few of our most esteemed experimentalist pioneers.

Opening the proceedings, Pauline Oliveros, one of today's most distinguished composers, feminists, and humanitarians, and a beloved member of the Mills community, will perform Sound. Light. Migrations (2009) for accordion and her "expanded instrument system" (EIS), which will process and distribute the sounds of her accordion throughout the Concert Hall during the performance. Tony Martin will contribute a visual performance using video projection and a custom-designed software system for direct drawing with light.

Terry Riley, whose celebrated composition In C marked a significant turning point in 20th-century music, taught at Mills during the 1970s. Riley, a founder of what became known as minimalist music, created works that reopened the borders between popular and experimental music. Our concert will feature a yet-to-be-announced work highlighting his keyboard virtuosity and improvisational skills.

Composer and multi-instrumentalist Roscoe Mitchell is a founding member of both the Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM)—whose profound importance in the history of American experimental music is now well-established—and the world-renowned Art Ensemble of Chicago. He is currently Darius Milhaud Professor of Composition at Mills. New music piano virtuoso Joseph Kubera will perform Mitchell's 8/8/88 (1998), a solo composition written especially for him.

Finally, Mills faculty member cellist/composer Joan Jeanrenaud, whose distinguished career began as a member of the legendary Kronos Quartet, in residence at Mills during the period that Terry Riley taught here, will perform two of her own works: Vermont Rules (2002), a set of thematic variations based on the blues, impressionism, Arabian music, and Bach; and Strange Toys (2004), a set of six two-minute pieces using electronic looping techniques to create compelling textural layers.

View Program Notes

Pauline Oliveros Sample Performance

Joan Jeanrenaud Sample Performance


Buy Tickets

Order individual or series tickets.
Keywords: Mills Festival

Get tickets now

Audio Clips
Pauline Oliveros
Terry Riley
Island of Never Anger (1:00)
Roscoe Mitchell
Nonaah (1:00)
Joan Jeanrenaud
Strange Toys (2:29)
Sign Up
Sign up for our mailing list, and you'll get all the latest updates.

Send me more info