President Hillman Selected to Deliver UCSF Visiting Scholar Lecture

Oakland, CA—October 24, 2017

Mills College President Elizabeth L. Hillman has been selected to serve as visiting lecturer for the Dr. Evelyn Lee Visiting Scholar Lecture in Cultural Competency and Diversity Series at the University of California San Francisco (UCSF). She will present a series of lectures on Tuesday, November 7, 2017 as part of UCSF’s Diversity Month. Watch the live feed here:

The event includes a full day of activities beginning with the Department of Psychiatry’s Grand Rounds in the morning, followed by a clinical case consultation and trainee case presentation at Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital and the San Francisco VA Medical Center.

For the UCSF Department of Psychiatry Grand Rounds, Hillman will deliver Staggering: Sexual Harassment in STEM Education and Training. The presentation will focus on extensive sexual harassment in in science, technology, engineering, and medical training.  

The Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital seminar, Feeble: The Current Legal Framework for Stopping Sexual Harassment, will address how the civil rights movement has made progress, but still has plenty of room for growth as expectations were high and inequities persist. 

Sworn to Protect: Sexual Assault in the U.S. Military, Hillman’s final presentation at the VA Medical Center, will focus on sexual assault in the military.

President Hillman has conducted extensive research on the history of sexual violence in military organizations and culture. She is a director and past president of the National Institute of Military Justice, a non-profit that promotes fairness in and public understanding of military justice worldwide. She previously served on the Response Systems to the Adult Sexual Assault Crimes Panel (RSP), an independent panel chartered by Congress to study and make recommendations about sexual assault in the U.S. military. Hillman is currently a member of, Addressing Sexual Harassment in the Science, Engineering, and Medical Workplaces Committee, The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine.